There’s something about High-King…

Or perhaps there’s more than just something?

I questioned myself today: Why was I not as excited about this unit as I should have been? I do realize what great variety of members we have here: Leader Takahashi Ai (Morning Musume), Tanaka Reina (Morning Musume), Captain Shimizu Saki (Berryz Kobo), Leader Yajima Maimi (℃-ute), and Egg Maeda Yuuka. For those of us who are non-ReinAi haters, this is the dream team. We’ve got the big names of Wonderful Hearts all together on the same page.

So it must be first impressions, I thought, since the unit name didn’t help heighten my hype at all.

High-King, hiking, Lion King, Hong Kong? I’m not sure about you, but if I were a H!P unit and named High-King, I would probably… My level of expectation was fluctuating.

However, during the moment when I double-clicked to watch C\C’s PV, when its enticing, nearly addicting rhythm traveled to my ears – who knew? – I was completely blown away.

The unit name business mattered no more. Its intended meaning became clear to me as soon as the girls marched forward in their black-and-red costumes, absolutely stunning and implying authority. High-King. Now, this time it clicked with me.

In addition to the costumes, the hats serve as quite a bonus to this PV. I think the one sitting on Takahashi’s head is solely there for her majesty’s own personal delight: Touching. But no, I wouldn’t mind seeing her hands in action again for the next single, and the next, next… Wouldn’t mind at all.

So what exactly what makes Cinderella\Complex so win? Besides lacking a storyline which is a plus to many, C\C meets the majority of the essential requirements of a winner PV. (I guess adding a storyline would serve no good to the actual play, eh?)

Mentioned earlier: Superb cast, catchy R&B melody with a touch of hip-hop, striking color/contrast, and very hawt costume (and HAT).

Now, the PV definitely has above average camera work. Artsy to a certain extent, I’d say, especially in the old PV with turntables that every blogger has probably noted already. I had a little fun screencapping most of it this afternoon as you can see in the pictures above. I am most amused by Captain’s million-dollar expression in the top left corner. :)

I’d like to finish this post with one last thought, and that is professionalism of the members. You wouldn’t watch the PV then call them a bunch of amateurs. Not even Yuuka (And why does she look and sound SO MUCH like the Tsugunaga Pro?).

Needless to say, the two-top of Morning Musume have been able to master professionalism for quite a while now. I wouldn’t say Maimi’s any less professional, but I do see a difference – a positive one. Captain herself here has definitely improved a few notches; I was quite pleased by her demeanor throughout the PV. Yuuka, whom I’ve..kind of warmed up to already simply because of the Tsugunaga resemblance, like the Tsugunaga Pro, knows how to work the poker face.

I guess the most interesting thing is giving the PV so much praise, yet realizing that it is still lacking something. Perhaps, the PV tried too hard to please. If this were a true five-star winner PV, then I, along with a bunch of other bloggers, would be screaming キタ――――(゜∀゜)――――!! But I do believe there exists something about High-King that’s enigmatically wonderful.

The question is, is there more than just something? What exactly is it lacking, if any? Or am I just trapped in my own stream of thoughts (considering the number of times I’ve used a word as vague as “something” in this post)?

3 Responses to “There’s something about High-King…”


  1. 1 sevii June 11, 2008 at 11:22 am

    Yuuka is seriously, like.. a clone of the perfect ratio of Tsugunaga and Suzuki.

    Except sadly, her vocal is more like Tsugunaga’s. LOL

    C/C reminded me not only of that Japanese lemon drink, but a red version of Resonant Blue.

    What else.

    I hated the song.
    It sounds like a shuffle unit number that we’d hear from around year 2000.

    I didn’t know what the hell Shimizu, Yajima, and Maeda were doing there. Honestly.

    Don’t get me wrong, Shimizu, I really respect. Yajima is probably one of my favorite C-ute members, and Maeda is hands down, my favorite egg. (YEAH IT’S BECAUSE SHE LOOKS AND SOUNDS LIKE MOMOCHI SO WHAT!)

    But just.. why..?
    Tanaka pwnt this PV so hard that I hardly saw SYM.

    And when I did see’em, they just felt.. so, out of place.

  2. 2 Ines June 13, 2008 at 2:18 am

    @sevii:

    And I thought it was impossible to find someone remotely similar to Momo. o.o

    Maa…but happily, she becomes your favorite Egg.

    Hahaha a red version of RB! (that appears better than RB.. -.-)

    あれあれ I thought Sevii, you’d like this song. At least a little bit. But you’re right on about it sounding like a shuffle number we’d hear from around year 2000.

    SYM…they make the dance look good.

    You know, Tanaka really did pwn it, but for some reason, these eyes of mine were GLUED to Takahashi and her pimpin’ hat. For a while I’d been blinded from seeing anyone else. orz

    Anyway, I need to give you that Longest Comment Writer Award of…ALL TIME? yeahh, all-time, before this blog dies. w (..which i hope is not too near ><) Thanks for the comment!


  1. 1 International Wota » Blogs Hello! Project Recommended » [Blogs] Kameipuru☆Syrup is liking High-King Trackback on June 7, 2008 at 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

